Posted by: Ocean's Dream | February 7, 2008

Ultima


The following tileset tutorials is inspired heavily by Ultima. While you may not necessarily like that type of graphical style, I still encourage you to read it. Plus, if you want to go for a Zelda look, I encourage you to read this, as the process for going about that isn’t too far off.


This is the ground tiles I’m going to use. 16×16 tiles like I’ve been doing before.


Wall tutorial. One for front and side view walls, 2 for corners, and then I just cut the front and side view walls in a diagonal on the bottom. Those will be useful.
1- First part should be straightforward. Instead of lines going up, I have them going in a diagonal for the bricks.
2- Side view is easy. Take the front view, flip it over. Make sure the diagonal lines are facing up.
3- Then, making the corner is done by putting the side and front view together. Split the corner tile with a diagonal in the middle, then connect them.
4- For the bottom corner, I did something similar. Instead of putting it together though, I cut the side view wall in half on a diagonal. Then copied it on top of the front view wall.


I put 3 wall tiles together. The one in the middle is so that I can make the opening as long as I want.
1- I started with the middle tile as that’s the easiest. It has to tile, so don’t start curving it here.
2- For the right side, I made a diagonal line. But at the end of it, going to the line that’s in the middle one, I changed to a slope of 2 instead of 1. Then, I cut out that area.
3- I didn’t start doing the diagonal line in the corner of the left wall. It would make the opening too long.
4- For the door, I put the left and right wall together, without the middle.
5- Since I don’t need the door to tile, I made the diagonal line continue down to the bottom. You can see in the previous one I couldn’t, if not it would go into the middle tile area.
6- The rest involves putting on a highlight, then a highlight above that.


Treasure chest!
1- Starting with a cube is a good idea for objects. You can vary the width of the objects by changing where the diagonal line starts.
2- I made the diagonal lines end with 2 pixel diagonals rather than 1, so it looks curved.
3- The top and right parts of the object should be brightest. Then, I just add a highlight, and more when necessary.


I started with a 3×3 tile area, since I want this table to tile.
1- I wanted to not have it as a straight table, so I modified the corners a bit. The design is really up to you.
2- Filled it in with brown, and set the bottom and right sides to black, where it had the transparent color before. If you are making a perfectly straight table, I would recommend you give some space for the black there, even if it’s a pixel wide line.
3- Remembering that it has to tile, I just dealt with the exterior edges of the table. Try testing it out in different lengths and heights, so you can see if it tiles how you want it to.
4- I added a shadow below and to the right of the table.
5- The table legs is all 16 pixels apart. The left and rightmost edges are the ones that don’t tile, but are kept at the edges.

Resulting tileset:

Testmap:

Responses

  1. Something I’ve noticed with RMVX’s RTP tiles is that they use a large number of colors for even their basic tiles. The grass tile, for example, has at least 5 greens in it, not to mention colors for the dirt (about another 5 or 6 colors, some being almost transparent). The colors are all very low contrast, too. In some cases, I can barely tell the difference between them when I’ve got the tile magnified to 800 percent.

    What’s your opinion on that style of tile (beyond the overall blockiness of the tileset, of course)? Do you think the tiles are too low contrast? Do you like the RTP tiles, in terms of overall detail and design, in general? Just curious.

    Oh yeah, that was me asking about tile color ranges as well, earlier. I was just logged into WordPress.

  2. Having more colors makes it harder to edit the tile. It seems like RMVX tiles are gone over with a blending or smudge tool, so it adds a bunch of unnecessary colors. I wouldn’t recommend that. I don’t mind the RMVX tiles, I’m not a huge fan of them but I like the blockiness of it.

    There are a few things about it that I do like, such as the Vine wall. That looks nice.

  3. And how do to draw figures?

  4. Ah, that I had to look at the Ultima 6 characters on how to do it.
    http://oceansdream.deviantart.com/art/Ultimaruhi-The-S-O-S-Brigade-76847032

    That would be the general style. Sorry for replying really late, but I think it may help someone else who would want to ask.

  5. Cool tutorial! There are two images which are now broken links. Any chance you can put those back in? I realize it’s been 4 years. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

