Posted by: Ocean's Dream | January 31, 2008

Auto-tiles in RMVX


Tileset template for A2. This is where the grass/fence/mountains/tallgrass/tables are. For this, I recommend setting a grid to 16×16 until you get to the mountain part, which then you can set a grid to 32×32.


-Let’s start with sand and grass. First, I want to make the sand that will go around the grass. I tend to work in 16×16 tiles first, then put 4 of them together to make a bigger 32×32 square. Then, add some details, fix some stuff to take advantage of the bigger size.

-I placed the sands around the middle of the template. Should be a 16 pixel width, don’t use the whole 32 width. Now, grass time. Similar to the sand, but with worrying more about how it tiles. I recommend you test it often and then try to kill the horizontal or vertical bands that may result.

-Cut out part of the sand. I only need to do the top 32×32 square, as I can just copy and flip for the other 3 sides.

-I didn’t want to have it completely mirrored so I added some variation.

-I think I accidently erased steps 1 and 2 here, so you only see 3 and 4. The 1 and 2 in this same row is for something else. Basically I just took a 16×16 corner sample. Copied 2 of them, and just filled in the corner piece to connect them. I made a tutorial on this previously.

-Then, make a circle in the middle of a 32×32 sand tile. This is for when you see only one of the tile.

-Then, copy the sand onto the grass tiles.

-One last thing, make a shadow color when the grass overlaps the sand.


Then Mountains.


Testmap. The character and the building look big. Well, I don’t have much in my tileset so I’ll leave it as is for now.

Responses

  1. I’m using RMVX at the moment. I only sorta like the RTP, but I think that my issues with it have forced me to seriously consider doing all my own art. The only problem is that I’m not much of an artist. I really like how easy to use RMVX is (I tried Game Maker, but to create an RPG engine in that system you have to be pretty familiar with the scripting language, and I’m not), but I’m actually looking forward to Stencyl. The only issue with Stencyl is that I’ll have to create all my own art…which, as I’m sure you know, is time-consuming.

    So do you prefer to create all your own art for every game you make? Also, do you make any games yourself or just do the art for them?

    Oh, by the way, I’m the same guy who commented on the stained glass windows.

  2. Practice some and see if pixel art is something you’d enjoy doing or are “forced” to for the sake of the graphics. Everyone has to start from somewhere, so don’t be too discouraged at first. You may find it fun to work on your own graphics.

    If you really find yourself forcing yourself to do it (not just sometimes, but most of the time), then I wouldn’t really suggest that, and may instead suggest you find someone to do it for you. Of course, you’ll be incredibly lucky if you can find someone willing to do it for free, so you may have to either pay someone or do a skill trade (Like, if you’re good at composing, you could trade songs for tilesets, though I think in general pixel artists may need programmer/scripter help more often).

    I have used premade graphics in the past, but I always have to edit them anyway to fit what I want it to look like. So I just make everything myself, and to avoid legal issues. It can be time consuming, but if you enjoy it, it’s not all that bad. Once you get good at it, it doesn’t take too long to do. I do most of these tutorials on my free time at work.

    I both make games and do art for others. I have made Island Sky, Ever Blue, and Paradise Blue by myself (The links are off to the side). I’m also planning a Flash game, but that depends on if I’m lazy or not, as I have to teach myself how to do keyboard inputs. I do art for other games too, like Excalistia and Alcarys Complex.

  3. Well, I’ve finished about 4 different tile types so far after spending about 8 hours trying out different techniques (mostly yesterday, not so much today). I was home sick from work, so I figured I’d try to do something to take my mind off of feeling like crap.
    Anyway, so far I like doing my own art. I’ve been working in 64 x 64 tile sizes, and I’m seriously considering “downsizing” to 32 x 32. I think my tiles look okay at that size, but they took way too much work, IMO.

    How long does it typically take you to create a new tile? 15 minutes? An hour? I’m really slow because I’m still learning, but I’d like to know what kind of speed I should be shooting for eventually. For me, one tile only took me about an hour. My “desert sand dunes” tile took me 4 hours. I just couldn’t get the darn thing to look good and tile so I scrapped it about 50 times. Anyway, just curious about how long it takes you, in general.

  4. Hmm. Well, grass tiles are quick, so I’d say only a few minutes for that. I never really time each individual tile, but certainly some are going to take more time than others. Unless the tile is very complex, you shouldn’t need to take an hour on it. That’s for one tile at least, things like trees, cliffs and statues may take longer. I don’t have specific times for each tiles, you’ll get quicker at them once you get more practice.

    For a tileset that’s 256×2688, I took about 7 hours on it (which was quick). For a 256×3712 tileset, it took me 17 hours, as it was a desert tileset and I don’t have as much experience doing those. I space things out a lot so I didn’t use all of the spots.

  5. But either way, don’t rush it, you’ll get better/faster with practice. Reference photos/tiles are good too.

  6. I think part of my problem is that I’m just not satisfied with whatever look I’m getting. I don’t have enough experience (been doing this about 2 weeks now) to create professional-looking tiles, but I keep going for a better look each time. I think part of the reason is that I’m waiting on some game design software to come out, and because it won’t be out for a while, I feel like I should practice the basics a lot more before I commit to creating a complete tileset. Maybe I should just go for the whole tileset right now, though, just to get some experience making different kinds of things. I’m going for an action RPG set, sorta like Mana/Seiken Densetsu, but less cartoony…of course I have no idea how to create a style like that, but I’m trying nonetheless.


Leave a Reply

Categories

