Posted by: Ocean's Dream | January 23, 2008

Cabinet


For the cabinet, I wanted it to not be just a rectangle. However, I wanted it to tile, so 1 or 2 tile width wouldn’t work. I used 3 tile width, and 3 tile height. I didn’t need it to tile vertically, so I’ll keep it at 3 tiles tall. (Shown at 2x the width and 2x the height of the actual cabinet:)

1. Starting with the darkest shade, I’ve filled up all the tiles.
2. I wanted it to be thinnest in the middle. So I cut out some from there.
3. The top of the cabinet seems too small. I made it bigger. Also, I curved out the base of it.
4. A pattern that’s used for a nice design.
5. Copy this tile column, and flip it horizontally. You now have the other side.
6. I’m filling the inside of it with a base color. The darkest shade is now the outline.
7. Making divisions for the drawers.
8. Marking off the top of the cabinet, and giving the cabinet legs.
9. Using blue as a shadow color for the cabinets.
10. I’ve made a pattern with the highlights on top. Also, adding highlights to the base.
11. Blue shadow color.
12. Giving the drawers a handle. Also, making a usual Ocean wave pattern. I had to make sure that it could tile well.
13. Adding some decoration to the drawers. It’s also the highlight because I didn’t feel like bringing out the new color yet.
14. Using a color darker than the highlight, I’ve colored over some of the highlights.
15. Final highlights
16. Optional step, but I made the pattern on the sides green. I could have made leaves, but I only thought of that after I wrote this sentence.

I use a similar method for things like Bookcases.

We’re done with the cabinet, so go ahead and toss it into the chipset. Now, since cabinets aren’t very good for exteriors, we’re going to make an interior wood floor tile. I wanted the wooden boards used for the floor to be long, but not tall. So instead of using a 16×16 tile, I used a 16×32 tile.

1. Fill in tiles with the darkest color
2. I made it so that it’s 1 line, then 3 lines of the base color, and it repeats.
3. On the 1st and 3rd rows, there’s a line at the end of it.
4. Here, there’s a line on the 16th pixel, the halfway mark.
5. Since the bottom 8 pixels is the same as the top, I’ll just ignore it. Since wood has lines going through it, that’s what I did to start with. I used a slightly lighter color. Don’t use high contrasts when working with floor tiles, unlike objects, they aren’t meant to stand out.
6. I broke up the lines a bit. There wasn’t really a system I used for doing it, so do it however you’d like.
7. This wasn’t a necessary step, but I added some highlights in the middle of those broken lines.
8. Copy top 8 pixels and paste it on the bottom.

Done! So, let’s place that on our chipset too.

Here’s the map:

Leave a Reply

Categories

